Voscur's Annual Conference and Social Impact Awards

Printer-friendly version
Voscur were delighted with the turn-out at this year's Annual Conference and Social Impact Awards. Hundreds of supporters including voluntary sector activists, business contacts and statutory sector leaders joined us to celebrate our 20th anniversary, take a look at some of the fantastic work done by the voluntary, community and social enterprise sector in Bristol and attend the ‘Voscurs’ (our annual social impact awards ceremony).
Our keynote speakers this year are Dai Donovan and Jayne Headon-Meldrum, whose lives inspired the hit film ‘Pride’. They spoke engagingly about working collaboratively with communities facing adversity and the importance of keeping an open mind when it comes to possible partnerships.
The Voscurs have 7 awards and the following deserving winners were announced at the event:
Volunteer Team of the Year
Trustee of the Year Award
Howard Myers, Avon and Bristol Law Centre 
Young Volunteer of the Year 16-25 year old Award
Anna Ludwig, Victim Support
Happy, Healthy Bristol Award
Batook Pandya Award for Inclusion
Community Venue of the Year Award
'Thanks For Supporting The Sector' Award
CSR Department, Clarke Wilmott Solicitors                                                              
Jackie Lewis, EDF Energy
Nicola Ferris; Public Health Improvement, Bristol City Council
Vice liaison officer PC Tina Newman, Avon and Somerset Constabulary
Willie Harbinson, ESHA Architects
“These awards shine a light onto the courageous, inventive and dedicated world of volunteers and voluntary and community organisations across the city," said Voscur's chair Richard Pendlebury.
"This work is carried out by unsung heroes who commit time, effort and energy to ensure many communities and individuals who have been hardest hit by social and economic exclusion are both supported and empowered.
"Voscur has been championing their vital work for the last 20 years and we will continue to do so."
You can see photos from the event here.
To watch our 20th Anniversary video, click here.
Photo by Liam Gast